Home » News & Publications » Featured Topics » 2015 Annual Awards Dinner

2015 Annual Awards Dinner

Thank You...

To the many organizations and individuals who supported and attended Jump$tart's 2015 Annual Awards Dinner, "Light the Way for Financial Literacy." 

This year, the financial literacy community honored U.S. Senator Jack Reed (D-RI); recently retired Vice President of Public Education at Experian, Maxine Sweet; recently retired Senior Vice President of Corporate Social Responsibility for HSBC Bank USA, Loretta Abrams; and the Montana Financial Education Coalition. Read the news release here.

Photos and highlights of the event will be posted here, soon.

About Jump$tart's Annual Awards Dinner

At the dinner, Jump$tart historically recognizes one or two Federal Legislators of the Year—members of the U.S. House of Representatives or Senate who have demonstrated commitment and effectiveness in advancing financial literacy among American citizens and, especially, among our nation’s youth. (To see the criteria for the Federal Leadership award, please click here.) Previous honorees have included Senators Daniel K. Akaka (HI), Jon Corzine (NJ), Rick Santorum (PA), Michael Enzi (WY), Wayne Allard (CO), Robert Menendez (NJ),and Kay Hagan (NC) and U.S. Representatives David Dreier (CA), Judy Biggert (IL), Rubén Hinojosa (TX), Earl Pomeroy (ND) Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX), and Carolyn McCarthy (NY). In 2010, this award was expanded to include others in the Federal government and renamed—the Federal Leadership Award. The honorees have included Sheila Bair, FDIC Chairman, and Arne Duncan, Secretary of Education.

Additionally, Jump$tart presents the William E. Odom Visionary Leadership Award, named for Bill Odom, the former chairman of Ford Motor Credit Corporation, whose vision of financial education laid the groundwork for the creation of Jump$tart and Jump$tart’s State Coalition of the Year Award for exemplary work by one of Jump$tart’s state affiliate organizations. The 2013 Odom Award winner was Annamaria Lusardi, Ph.D., Denit Trust Distinguished Scholar in Economics and Accountancy at the George Washington University School of Business, and director of the Financial Literacy Center, a joint center of the RAND Corporation, Dartmouth College and the Wharton School.(To see the criteria for the Odom Award, please click here.

Photos from the 2014 dinner are now available--enjoy!                                                                                                           

Picture: 4 / 10

Mary Dyer accepted the State Coalition of the Year Award on behalf of the Maine Coalition.