Jump$tart Welcomes New Chairman

J$ logo      NEWS RELEASE

      919 Eighteenth St., NW, 3rd Floor, Washington, DC, 20006 – 202-466-8610 – www.jumpstart.org




FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                               

Media Contact:  Laura Levine:  202-466-8610  

 Jump$tart Coalition Welcomes New Chairman

Three New Board Members Also Join the Group’s Meeting

WASHINGTON, DC–January 8, 2009– This month’s meeting of the board of directors of the Jump$tart Coalition® for Personal Financial Literacy will mark the first time in its thirteen-year history that the not-for-profit group seats a new chairman: Neil Milner, president and CEO of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors, Inc.

Milner, who was voted into office at the board’s October 2008 meeting, succeeds H. Randy Lively, the only chair Jump$tart has had in its history. Lively, the former president and CEO of the American Financial Services Association, resigned at that meeting to enjoy his professional retirement more fully.

“We will certainly miss Randy’s optimism and hard work on behalf of this organization,” Milner said, “but I’m delighted to be able to help direct the work of the coalition as we move forward. Randy’s are big shoes to fill, but if these difficult financial times teach us anything, it is how important our work is. Everyone—young and old alike—needs financial literacy.”

Milner has been President and CEO of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors since October 1996. Previously, he was executive vice president and CEO of the Iowa Bankers Association, a position he had held since 1972. He began his banking association career as deputy manager and public relations director for the Ohio Bankers Association, and later served as executive manager of the South Dakota Bankers Association. A Leesburg, Ohio native, Neil is a graduate of The Ohio State University. 

John M. Gannon, Secretary and Executive Director of the FINRA Investor Education Foundation, was elected to serve as Jump$tart Coalition Treasurer, the office formerly held by Milner. Don Blandin, President and CEO of the Investor Protection Trust, and Colleen Tressler, Senior Project Manager for the Federal Trade Commission, Bureau of Consumer Protection, will continue in their roles as Vice Chairman and Secretary, respectively.

In addition, three new board members will attend the first meeting of 2009, including representatives from HBSC-North America, the Independent Community Bankers Association, and Wells Fargo. HSBC—North America will be represented on the board of directors by Loretta Abrams, vice president of Community Development and Consumer Advocacy; the Independent Community Bankers Association, by Karen Tyson, senior vice president and director of Communications; and Wells Fargo, by Pam Erwin, senior vice president.

About Jump$tart

The Jump$tart Coalition® has grown to include more than 180 national partners and 48 affiliated state coalitions. The Jump$tart Clearinghouse, which lists more than 700 titles of financial literacy materials available for all, can be found at www.jumpstartclearinghouse.org.  A map of state-by-state financial education requirements can be found at www.jumpstart.org under “State Requirement.” More information about Jump$tart and its biennial survey can be found at www.jumpstart.org.